rmhiRural Mental Health Initiatives Workshops

The Rural Health Alliance Aotearoa New Zealand (RHĀNZ) was contracted by the Ministry of Health – as part of the Government’s emergency response funding – to run a series of workshops across rural and regional New Zealand to upskill rural health professionals and social services groups, in suicide risk assessment and suicide prevention strategies.

42 Workshops were offered across rural New Zealand between November 2015 and May 2016. We could not have done this without the tremendous support and assistance from so many people from Rural General Practices, Rural Support Trust, local caterers and District Councils, and DHBs.

Thank you to all of you – its been an amazing effort! Through our combined efforts about 880 people completed workshops in:

  • Amberley
  • Ashburton
  • Dannevirke
  • Waipukurau
  • Alexandra
  • Wanaka
  • Opotiki
  • Rotorua
  • Morrinsville
  • Tokoroa
  • Thames
  • Taupo
  • Great Barrier Island
  • Kumeu
  • Warkworth
  • Wellsford
  • Hokianga
  • Dargaville
  • Te Araroa
  • Gisborne (2)
  • Ruatoria
  • Wairoa
  • Blenheim
  • Murchison
  • Golden Bay
  • Invercargill
  • Gore
  • Bulls
  • Taihape (2)
  • Carterton
  • Greymouth (2)
  • Franz Josef
  • Hokitika
  • Westport
  • Fairlie
  • Geraldine
  • Oamaru
  • Hawera
  • New Plymouth (2)

Professor Annette Beautrais biography and further information.

Print The Rural Mental Health Initiative has been endorsed by The Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners (RNZCGP) and has been approved for up to 3 credits CME for the General Practice Educational Programme (GPEP) Years 2 and 3 and Maintenance of Professional Standards (MOPS) purposes.


pharmacy Accreditation number 2015/8. This programme has been endorsed by PSNZ ENHANCE for 3 hours of Group 1 learning and pharmacists may allocate THREE group 1 points after attending this workshop, evidenced by receipt of the RHAANZ certificate of Attendance.